Jury members come from different countries, continents, professions and fields of experience. They have wide experience of international affairs and, in particular, of global justice and environment issues. They serve independently and in their personal capacities; institutional affiliations in the list below are given only for purposes of identification.

Board Trustees usually  serve as Jury members. Additional Jury members are invited by the board on an annual basis. Membership changes over time in order to ensure the broadest possible scope of expertise, perspectives and issues.

Please note: All communications about the Jury should be addressed to our office in Stockholm, not to its individual members.

2016 Jury

Marianne Andersson

Board member

Read more…

Nnimmo Bassey

Read more…


Right Livelihood Award Laureate and Executive Director of Health of Mother Earth Foundation

Thais Corral

Read more…

Thais Corral, Brazil

Co-founder, Women’s Environment and Development Organization

Paul Ekins

Vice-Chair of the Board

Read more…

Anwar Fazal

Read more…


Right Livelihood Award Laureate, former President, International Organisation of Consumers Unions/Consumers International

Monika Griefahn

Chair of the Board

Read more…

Juliane Kronen

Board member

Read more…

Rama Mani

Read more…

Anne Rüffer

Read more…


Publisher. Board Member, Right Livelihood Award Foundation Switzerland

Jakob von Uexkull

Read more…

United Kingdom

Founder President of the Right Livelihood Award

Ole von Uexkull


Read more…

Link to bio

Past jury members include:

Tani Adams, Guatemala

Founder and former Director, Greenpeace Latin America

Frank Bracho, Venezuela

Former Ambassador to India

Rodrigo Carazo, Costa Rica

Former President

Diana Cohn

Senior Program Officer, Panta Rhea Foundation

James George, Canada

Former Ambassador, Member of the UN Disarmament Commission

Birgitta Hambraeus, Sweden

Former Member of Parliament

Sven Hamrell, Sweden

Senior Adviser, Dag Hammarskjöld Foundation

Thor Heyerdahl, Norway

Author and Explorer

Sir Richard Jolly, UK.

Honorary Professor, University of Sussex, former Deputy Executive Director, UNICEF

Doris Kareva, Estonia

Former Secretary-General, Estonian National Commission for UNESCO

Luis Lopezllera, Mexico

President, Promocion del Desarrollo Popular (PDP)

Josh Mailman, USA

Founder, Threshold Foundation

Rama Mani, India/France

Senior Research Associate, University of Oxford’s Centre for International Studies

Anuradha Mittal, India/USA

Executive Director, Oakland Institute

Thandika Mkandawire, Malawi.

Director of UNRISD

Robert Muller, France.

Former Assistant Secretary-General of the UN

Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah, Mauritania

Former Special Representative of the UN Secretary General for Somalia

Vithal Rajan, India

Chairman, Confederation of Voluntary Associations

Ursula Schulz-Dornburg, Germany

Founder and Chairperson, Grassroots Foundation

Kristina Svensson, Sweden

Former MP and Ambassador to Zimbabwe and Zambia

Albert Tevoedjre, Benin

Former Assistant Director-General of the ILO

Michaela Walsh, USA

Founder and past President of Women’s World Banking

Ponna Wignaraja, Sri Lanka

Former Secretary-General of the Society for International Development (SID)

  • Nominate

    The Jury
  • Contact details
    Ole von Uexküll ole[@]rightlivelihood.org
    PGP Public Key: 2A51B8B9
    Phone: +46 (0)8 70 20 337