Regional Conference for North American Right Livelihood Laureates, 15-18 May 2018

North American Regional Conference

In May 2018, a group of Right Livelihood change-makers based in Canada and the US will convene at the University of California, Santa Cruz to discuss challenges and opportunities for advancing social and economic justice.  In these tumultuous   times, this meeting will deepen and ground our local efforts toward a more sustainable, equitable, and peaceful world.

Dates: 15-18 May, 2018
Place: University of California, Santa Cruz, USA


Since 2013, the Right Livelihood Award has arranged a series of regional conferences for its Laureates. It was after a call from one of our Colombian Laureates, asking for help to strengthen their regional network, that we decided to bring Laureates from Latin America and the Caribbean together for the first time. Since it was such an important and fruitful meeting, we decided to arrange regional meetings for Laureates in Africa and the Middle East in 2014, in Asia in 2015, and, in 2016, Laureates in Europe. The meeting of North American Right Livelihood Award Laureates will be the fifth regional conference. In times when safe spaces for action are shrinking for civil society all over the world, these meetings provide an enabling environment for important actors toward a more sustainable and peaceful world. Award recipients have been able to share struggles, exchange ideas, strengthen networks of collaboration, and engage more deeply with change makers and communities local to the areas where the meetings have been held.

Laureates attending

Invitations have been extended to all North American Laureates. The following has confirmed their attendance:
Alice Tepper Marlin (USA)
Amory Lovins (USA)
Bill McKibben (USA)
Frances Moore Lappe (USA)

Jamila Raqib, Executive Director, Albert Einstein Institution (founded by Gene Sharp (USA) who just recently passed away)
Helena Norberg-Hodge (USA/UK/Australia)
Maude Barlow (Canada)
Pat Mooney (Canada)
Paul Walker (USA)
Plenty International (USA)

Robert Bilott (USA)
Sheila Watt-Cloutier (Canada)
Tony Clarke (Canada)
Wes Jackson (USA)


Amy Goodman (USA)
Daniel Ellsberg (USA)
Someone from the David Suzuki Foundation (Canada)

Partner Organisations

A number of groups at UC Santa Cruz are collaborating to co-host this event, including:
UCSC Common Ground Center at Kresge College
UCSC Kresge College
UCSC Blum Center on Poverty, Social Enterprise, and Participatory Governance
UCSC Everett Program
UCSC Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems

Please contact us using the information below if you would like to contribute to the conference.

Add strength to change-makers by supporting this conference

Since its founding by Jakob von Uexkull, Individual donations have been the backbone of the Right Livelihood Award. Institutional donors also help to support the Award. If you would like to contribute to this meeting of courageous people and organisations in North America that have found practical solutions to the root causes of global problems, please visit the ‘Donate‘ section.

Mark your support: “Regional conf., Santa Cruz”

Contact information

Kajsa Övergaard
Senior Programme Director
Right Livelihood Award Foundation

David Shaw
Coordinator, RLC Campus Santa Cruz
Co-Director, Common Ground Center
UCSC Kresge College