2021 Laureates

This year’s Award

“This year’s Laureates are united in their fight for equality, democracy, justice and freedom. Defying unjust legal systems and dictatorial political regimes, they successfully strengthen human rights, empower civil societies and denounce institutional abuses. This year’s selection of recipients highlights the increasing threats to democracy globally. It is high time that all of us supporting democracy around the world stand up and support each other.”

>> Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director


Download Executive Director’s video statements (English)

Download a high-quality video recording of the press conference (English, Swedish)

Download high-quality photos of the press conference


Media Contacts

International Media

Emoke Bebiak
Email Emoke

M +41 78 333 84 84

Swedish Media

Johannes Mosskin
Email Johannes

M +46 70 437 11 48

German Media

Nina Tesenfitz
Email Nina 

M+49 (0)170 5763 663

Spanish Media

Nayla Azzinnari
Email Nayla

M +54 9 11 5460 9860