Regional Conference for Asia-Pacific

During the third regional conference in Mumbai, India, from 3-6 March 2015, Right Livelihood Award Laureates based in Asia and the Pacific came together to share their experiences and express solidarity with civil society organizations and activists across India – including Medha Patkar’s National Alliance of People’s Movements (NAPM) and Irfan Engineer’s Center for Study of Society and Secularism. The conference was hosted at Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS), the Right Livelihood College’s South Asian campus.

The highlight of the conference was a public event on Thursday, 5 March.  In the morning, Ruth Manorama (2006, India), Medha Patkar (1991, India), Basil Fernando (2014, Hong Kong SAR, China) and Sima Samar (2012, Afghanistan) participated in a panel discussion on the topic “Transforming Livelihood: Creating an Enabling Environment for Civil Society in the Asia-Pacific”. Government officials, policymakers, diplomats, civil society activists, students and the media were able to attend the event. Afterwards, students and faculty members of TISS had the chance to interact with the Laureates in smaller thematic seminars. They discussed topics such as peace, the environment, human rights and gender issues.

Read the press releases on the opening (17 February 2015) and closing of the conference (7 March 2015). Also read Laureate Alyn Ware (2009, New Zealand)’s press release, “India could lead again for a nuclear-weapon-free world” (2 March 2015).

Laureate Swami Agnivesh (2004, India); Interfaith dialogue, liberation of bonded labourers

Laureate Citizens’ Coalition for Economic Justice (CCEJ) (2003, South Korea): represented by Hogyun Kim; Citizen’s movement for social justice and reconciliation with North Korea

Irfan Engineer, son of Laureate Asghar Ali Engineer (2004, India): Interfaith dialogue and peace

TENAGANITA (Laureate Irene Fernandez (HYPERLINK)’s organization (2005, Malaysia): represented by Glorene A. Das; Protection of women and migrant workers

Laureate Basil Fernando, Asian Human Rights Commission (2014, Hong Kong SAR, China); Human rights defender

Laureate Huang Ming (2011, China); Entrepreneur in solar energy)

Laureate International Baby Food Action Network Asia/BPNI (1998, International): represented by Dr. Arun Gupta; Campaigners in support of breastfeeding

Laureate Kerala Sastra Sahitya Parishad (KSSP) (1996, India): represented by Professor P K Raveendran; Environment and education

Laureate Ladakh Ecological Development (1986, India): represented by Lobzang Tsultim; Protection of environment and culture

Laureate Lokayan/Rajni Kothari (1985, India): represented by Vijay Pratap and Ovais Sultan Khan; Protection of civil rights and the environment

Laureate Ruth Manorama (2006, India); Human rights, focus on women’s rights

Suciwati, widow of Laureate Munir (2000, Indonesia); Human rights activism and civilian control of the military

Laureate Medha Patkar (1991, India), Narmada Bachao Andolan; Human rights and environmental activists

Laureate Seikatsu Club Consumers’ Cooperative (1989, Japan): represented by Ryoko Shimizu, Masami Tsuchiya, and Teruko Kobayashi; Environmental protection and sustainable consumption modeling)

Laureate Shrikrishna Upadhyay / SAPPROS (2010, Nepal); Civil society activist and micro finance practitioner

Laureate Sima Samar (2012, Afghanistan); Health, education, human rights activist

Laureate Sulak Sivaraksa (HYPERLINK), (1995, Thailand); Public intellectual, activist

Laureate Hannumappa R Sudarshan / Vivekananda Girijana Kalyana Kendra (VGKK), (1994, India) Indigenous peoples’ rights

Laureate Alyn Ware, (2009, New Zealand); Nuclear disarmament